New International Copyright Treaty under WIPO

A new copyright (or copyright-related) treaty is a big deal.  The Berne Convention came into force in 1886 and is still in effect.  With its revisions, Berne remains the leading copyright treaty setting minimum international norms in copyright countries in the 146 member states adhering to it. Performers in audiovisual works now have a treaty of their own.  On 26 June 2012, a Diplomatic Conference under the auspices of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) finalized a new treaty and negotiators from WIPO member states signed the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances (Beijing Treaty.)  The treaty, adopted by the Diplomatic Conference on 24 June 2012, was named in recognition of the city, Beijing, that hosted the final round of negotiations from 20 – 26 June 2012.  The treaty concluded over twelve years of negotiations under WIPO.  Read entire article.

Comments are closed.

About | Contact