Berne Copyright Treaty – A New Member

New copyright treaty

For sometime, 165 members have been members of the leading convention on copyright, the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works. On 27 September 2012 the Republic of Vanuatu became a member of the Berne Convention, where it will enter into force on 27 December 2012. The Berne Convention is under the auspices of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

National Treatment in 166 Countries

There are now 166 members of the Berne Convention that provide national treatment to each other. Content protected in any of the Berne Convention countries is protected in all of the countries, subject to the copyright laws of the country in which the content is used. This is automatic and the use of a copyright symbol or notice, or registration, is not necessary for this copyright protection.

Comments are closed.

About | Contact